Trimming the fat.

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Animation Nation Message Board ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Brian on April 15, 1999 at 11:10:41:

Apologies in advance for the length of this post...

I've been reading this message board for awhile now about the problems with the way the major studios are run and the inability of the union to forcefully correct these problems, and a number of ideas have been brewing away which I thought I'd try to share here. Unfortunately I'm in the position of having very little first hand experience with the industry directly. I graduated college slightly more than a year and a half ago and have not worked within the major studios yet. However I've got my own scars from the job hunt process and I'm currently watching my girlfriend suffer the same drawn out fiasco, so anything I can do to make the situation less volatile, or at least more comfortable to those of us on the production side of things I'll be happy to lend a hand.

So anyhow, here's what I've been thinking...

The major animation studios are currently both a source of pride and pain for animation artists. The best artists are drawn to these studios because the highest quality animation is produced here and the pay rate is far better than nearly any other available option. But in an environment where a constant stream of high quality artists is ensured there becomes less and less need to be kind and benevolent to everyone. The result is that artists are cast about like an old toy once their work is finished. Those who survive the layoffs have to continue on knowing that pure skill isn't enough to insure steady employment. What happens to the people who have families who rely on that income to keep them afloat?