AnimationNation Forum

AnimationNation

my profile login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» AnimationNation   » The Business Forum   » Help with maintaining the freelance life

Author Topic: Help with maintaining the freelance life
Dan Forgione
Member # 3433

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Dan Forgione   Email Dan Forgione         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi,

I am hoping some of you out there can help me out. I have been freelancing for a few years now, but not until recently has it really become a fulltime thing. (Before I had taken on jobs while at school, and on top of a regular work load at a studio.)

Now that its a regular thing, and I am building up my client list, I am making a fairly steady income, however most of it is pretax.
I know I can make quarterly payments to the IRS and all, but how much from each check do I set aside for taxes, what if I don't receive 1040s from clients?

I am tryin to keep the business side of my work as clean an organized as possible, so any tips would be great.

Also, by any chance, does anyone use File Maker pro for client/job tracking? I have started using it, but I can't seem to figure out how to make a database that is customizable for each job easily. For example some jobs pay hourly, other daily. Some clients want detailed invoices others not so much. I know I can just type one out in Word or excel, but I feel like it would be so much easier keeping track of my income, billed/paid invoices, and contacts if it were all in a relatable database.

Thanks in advance...

Dan

IP: Logged
Charles
Administrator
Member # 7

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Charles           Edit/Delete Post