AnimationNation

my profile login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» AnimationNation   » General Discussion   » money, school, and animation

Author Topic: money, school, and animation
smars
Member # 3496

Icon 1 posted      Profile for smars   Email smars         Edit/Delete Post 
I've posted very little here since I joined, mostly because I've been animating my bum off. (that's a good thing yes?) Anyway, I'm an animation student at AIA I'm sort of not ashamed to say it, we only have one really good teacher and she knows who she is. Her name rhymes with Cree Lowe. The point of this is in order to get out of this school one of the things you must have is a web site. Well, this one girl in the class had her site built but didn't have a host yet. So the teacher told her she would most likely be getting the failing grade for the mid-quarter. Not the final but just the mid. I turned to the guy next to me who is a rather serious animation student like myself, and asked: why o we have to have websites? What if we don't have the money to have a website? And his reply was, well, they shouldn't be in school. I went cold. My question is how many other people feel like this? Should people with money be the only ones who can earn higher education? I myself have no money. I'm pretty close to dirt poor. The whole reason for me going to school was to hopefully gain the experience that would give me better options than wal-mart, stocking shelves. What do you guys and gals think? I'm still not sure if going to THIS school for animation was my best decision. "sigh". I'm 31 and getting tired of school the environment.
IP: Logged
-FP-
IE # 13
Member # 914

Icon 1 posted      Profile for -FP-   Author's Homepage   Email -FP-         Edit/Delete Post 
Seemingly extraneous requirements are irritating, and any school environment does, generally, suck.