AnimationNation Forum

AnimationNation

my profile login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» AnimationNation   » General Discussion   » "Monster House" opinions?

Author Topic: "Monster House" opinions?
Inkan
IE # 77
Member # 1089

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Inkan   Author's Homepage   Email Inkan         Edit/Delete Post 
I had been working on the assumption that most professionals here were hostile to "Monster House" because it uses motion capture. But I just saw the review of it by Ebert and Roeper and they fell over themselves praising it. Roeper even asserted that MH should win the Best Animated Feature Oscar. So I wanted to ask, are people here actually looking forward to this movie's debut, or are people hostile to it like I thought? If "Monster House" winds up a Monster Hit, will people here welcome that, or decry it as mo-cap threatens the animation artform?

Me, I'm not a pro and so my opinion is unsophisticated, I'm afraid. Judging from only the trailers, I think the animation for the house itself actually looks pretty good, and imagery from the house's inside looks as scary as it should. The characters are mo-capped, but they don't look like the pseudo human zombies in the awful "Polar Express". Instead they look like run of the mill Tim Burton knockoffs. Unremarkable, but OK, and "Polar Express" showed that they could've been a lot worse.

IP: Logged
Christian
IE # 211
Member # 3132

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Christian   Email Christian         Edit/Delete Post 
Don't care too much about the technique used but the preview I have seen didn't really float my boat. I am entirely open to the possibility though that the preview didn't accurately convey the grandeur of the film that Ebert and Roeper have seen in it.
Jasen
IE # 129
Member # 2721

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Jasen   Author's Homepage   Email Jasen         Edit/Delete Post